Skip to content

Bruise Pristine

April 7, 2011

Is there something that happens to women of a certain age that makes them feel the need to buy everything they can in various shades of purple?

This phenomenon became apparent to me when I started my most current job back in January. I work in one of the  ‘Ivy League’  universities in the UK in an internationally renowned department,  yet high levels of purple attire have been registered in each and every office. Purple jumpers, skirts, shoes, tights, jackets, bags and accessories. One of the senior managers has purple high (or low?) lights in her grey hair to go with her purple framed specs and always has at least 3 items of purple clothing on.

I have been told that at Christmas there is departmental award ceremony (most helpful colleague etc) one award is for the most purple colleague. They are obviously highly competitive here as the levels of purple are frankly ridiculous, coffee time is headache inducing with all the clashing shades.

Being as that I only ever really wear black the only time I can join in is when I have one of those mysterious bruises that I seem to wake up with every so often.  I may need to make a bit more an efort in the plum department if I am to progress here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 1:09 pm

    Oh dear I love purple. I own various clothes in shades of purple (although i own a lot of blue too… perhaps i’m going for the badly bruised look instead?) Perhaps just go in one day dressed as a ribena berry? xx

  2. April 7, 2011 1:13 pm

    Don’t get me wrong, I am not a purple hater, i am a fan of deep hues like aubering etc. But fuck me…there is some serious purple addiction going on here!

Trackbacks

  1. Interview Fear « Mr Nobodies Cousin

Leave a Reply

